For today’s prompt, take the phrase “Important (blank),” replace the blank with a word or phrase, make the new phrase the title of your poem, and then, write the poem. Possible titles could include: “Important Documents,” “Important: Read Before Assembling,” “Important People,” and so on. I hope everyone finds something important to write about today.

Importance raised a lot of possibilities and issues, mostly important ones. I asked myself what is important, and an old argument, and old battle took over: administration versus creation. I have seen too much emphasis in my life placed on administrative brilliance: we need to do this more efficiently. Government laws and regulations are largely based on administration: adherence, compliance, and subservience. Rewards are given to businesses who can do paperwork and complete contracts to the T. There are no regulatory or administrative awards given for creativity. Much of what I am saying is subliminal. It is why I have given up on accounting. Much importance is placed on people who can count beans correctly, not on those who can devise a new and better bean burrito. I’ve sat too many days at a desk wondering why I was there.

This poem is not about me but a hypothetical entrepreneur with a great idea, with un-capped and untapped creativity who falls to the system. I do employ some abstract metaphor. One of the banes of an accountant is being faced in tax season with a new client and their shoebox full of receipts — the shoebox accounting system. But what if you don’t even have that?

The Big One

The decisions accumulate like bad debts
a once promising pillar of the community.
Important people took notice, before they served
the latest in a string of beads and baubles

Take them to a bank and let an expert take care of it. An expert
at taking money, at snuffing and suppressing. Creativity
only for those administratively supple thinkers.

Who can you trust anymore?
What do people do when shoes are sold in a plastic bag?
Is there an app for climbing out of the muck?

Prioritize, my accountant says.
Might as well be my IT support dude. Reboot before it crashes!
Take care of the big ones first, running a business
a Labrador fishing vacation for Grandpa.

I’d rather stop at the local brew pub, and support
a low paid business student with my last plastic bill, better advice
than from some asshole at a shiny desk
who treats my life as a folded page.

 

