Tags

For today’s prompt, write a time out poem. There are moments in my life that I wish I could take a time out. For instance, it would’ve been nice earlier this year when I had pneumonia, but life and work keeps chugging along. But there’s always a chance to take time outs in poetry if you dare. So dare to write a time out poem (or two) today.

I didn’t post yesterday; because we drove to Moncton, an hour and a half trip. I handed my CPA/CMA certificates back and had a nice, frank talk with them. No hard feelings, no regrets, it’s just time to part ways. I’ve tried rekindling that spark for numbers over the past couple of years, but the creative brain wants to dominate.

DSC_0766[1]We went almost directly across the street for dinner at C’est la Vie, a quaint little café. They serve Korean food, a variety of coffee, and beer & wine. Service was excellent and charming, if not linguistically challenging. It doesn’t bother me the Koreans can’t speak English as long as the French don’t mind me not understanding them. It’s very often how things work around here, slow, deliberate, probing, yet in the end everybody smiling. The Bibimbap was outstanding as it always is everywhere, and I recommend the place. I’ eat there again.

They also host literary events. Last night was an open mic night, and I brought a few things to read. There was entertainment, a local singer/guitarist André Saulnier,  and about 25 people in attendance, spread out over the café. Thanks very much Lee Thompson for hosting an outstanding event and the vibrant Moncton writing crowd for making it altogether an enjoyable evening.DSC_0768[1]

My poem yesterday had nothing to do with the day. It was my obligatory shot at America; which I am no longer part of. I still engage in the fight for freedom, though, for the 8.7 million Americans abroad being abused by President Obama and the IRS. I actually kind of like this little ditty, but that’s all it is, a political/human rights rant disguised as poetry. I didn’t make it rhyme 😦

The American Expat

The IRS does not care, if you’re not there
Show me your papers, please
Treasury doesn’t look away, when you don’t stay
Show me your papers, please
The consulate can meet with you in June, next year
Show me your papers please
Your new country turns you in, there’s no way to win
Show me your papers, please!

 

