Day six is not my favorite day.

For today’s prompt, write an ekphrastic poem. An ekphrastic poem is a poem inspired by art. You can pick your own favorite piece of art if you wish. Or you can use one of the examples below:

I chose this image.age_of_love_alfons_mucha-1024x870 I am reminded of many things at once when I look at this. The character in front, the woman in white with the children, is in almost a Last Supper pose; the Allman Brothers’ song, ‘Revival’ pops into my head: “People can you feel it. Love is in the air.”; Woodstock; free love as practiced by hippies in the sixties; and seemingly endless, undocumented images of similar scenes and events.

This is a dream-like painting, with water, with relaxation. I imagined laying in a bathtub dreaming of Utopias, of the idyllic state. But of course such states do not exist. Never have and never will. And it’s this contrast, this conflict, that I chose to write about:

Bathing

Lounging in green fields
No stones to hinder
Exposed skin, tender

Goldfish tickling your toes
Evening curry
The kitchen’s worry

Love tonight, will be free
In dreams, in knowing
Bathwater browning

One of the kids called
Her car won’t start
She can’t push home her shopping cart

The ring around the tub
Real life strangles
Fee love, entangles

 

