One of my wishes is to someday be able to call myself a writer. I’ll argue I cannot do this until I have something published. I’m working on it. When I do, I plan on printing some business cards. I think it would be cool to go to say a Christmas party and respond to someone who asks me what I do by saying “I’m a Writer” and handing them a business card.

What is a writer? Someone who writes, yes. I also think a writer is a story-teller. Some tell true stories and some tell made up stories. I do some of both. I blog truth, mostly, I interact with countless diabetics where I am completely truthful, and I also write fiction — two novels in progress.

Liars also tell stories. They are storytellers for nefarious or misguided reasons. When I am writing fiction, I am lying to you. I also plan on printing a set of cards that says I’m a “Professional Liar.”

The term Professional Liar is analogous to Professional Fiction Writer. They are not exactly the same, but they are close enough to have fun with. Professional Liar is a metaphor of Fiction writer.

It’s important to understand metaphors. I use them instinctively, but once in a while I sit back and study them, only to fall back into my shoot-from-the-hip delivery methods. *grin*

Sometimes we miss metaphors. Yes, even the smartest out there miss metaphors.

I’m about to present one, but I’m also about to take this post in a new direction. I’m moving away from literary discussion into nutrition discussion.

In nutrition, particularly when we discuss obesity, diabetes, heart disease, and the whole metabolic syndrome fiasco, we want to talk about cause and effect. Not eating enough antioxidants contributes to heart disease. We get fat because we eat too much. Eating less sugar reduces inflammation. We like to talk in cause and effect, not metaphor.

Did you catch the metaphor in the previous sentence? Billions of people miss it every day, including the smartest minds in the world. Even Dr. Oz misses it.

We get fat because we eat too much.

This metaphor throws us off because of its joining word because. Because implies cause, and we believe it. Lets look at some other examples.
– My glass gets full because it fills with water.
– My computer monitor is bright because it emits lots of light.
– My coffee tastes good because I like it with coconut oil and whipping cream.

These are all examples of a type of logical fallacy called Begging the Question. In this type of statement, the premise redefines the proposition: the right side of the word because is a redefinition of the left side. A full glass is one that fills with water; A bright monitor is one that emits a lot of light; and coffee with coconut oil and whipping cream taste good, I like it. The right side doesn’t explain the left side, it doesn’t explain the word because, it merely redefines it.

In these examples replacing the word because with is changes them from arguments to metaphors.

Someone who gets fat is someone who eats too much. Doesn’t this make much more sense? Tell me please, where is the cause in the original sentence.

I hope you’ve read this far. These are important ideas in both literature and science. I hope it helps your writing like I hope it helps mine.

The real question here is “why do we get fat?” or “why do we eat too much?” It is an important question. I’ll leave you with a couple of videos to watch, one serious and one not.

Science (this logical fallacy explained): http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KH9079LV4tY

Humor: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MlCQ664cvnk

