Tags

, , ,

I am a member of a small, informal writing group. They are mostly older women, but there’s another guy. Today there were six of us gathered at a local restaurant for our monthly breakfast and sharing session.

This is not a formal, sanctioned group. It’s not sponsored by any writer’s federation, there are no fees, and no membership cards. We do it because we love writing and we believe sharing our writing and receiving feedback is important. I enjoy reading my work out loud. It’s scary, but I enjoy it. The reading comes to life that way. I hear its flow and meanings. I can hear if it works or not. Others can as well.

Today I read probably the most outlandish scene from my novel. It’s set on Parliament Hill in Ottawa during Canada Day celebrations. It was a long scene at 3600 words, and it was rather detailed. I ran through a number of descriptions and events to set up my “confrontation.” As my encounter began, one of the six women caught on and began laughing. I said darn, it’s too obvious. Only she laughed as it proceeded for its two pages, and she did laugh harder at each dialogue moment. I thought the others must have known and didn’t like it.

Fortunately for me, the others did like it; they just didn’t catch on to my ruse. Good, I thought, but they were so straight-faced afterwards.

I determined right away that it’s a scene you probably need to read twice if you didn’t get the ruse. I’m not sure I like this. I think it may detract from the story. I’m wondering if I have to bring it even more over the top

Naw. I say let the readers kick themselves for not getting the already obvious. Let them praise John for hiding the obvious so well.

It’s 64% edited and still plugging away. I’m now hitting the prose I wrote after NaNoWriMo, so I hope the writing I need to edit improves. I’m hoping I can get a lot more edited this week.

Canada Day
Canada Day
