Tags

, , , , , ,

I think I want to become recognized as a writer, as someone who makes their living by writing and not as someone who simply writes for the joy of it. I want writing to be the name of my next career. I want a business card that says writer.

I think I want these things. I’ve said many times in my life that I want to be something or want to do something, and then the bling dulls, and I move on to something else.

I have written much, though, in the last six years. I have made about fifteen thousand posts in various diabetes forums, I write Facebook posts every day, often lengthy, I respond to many nutrition and diabetes articles, I write letters to editors, I write a few blog posts about diabetes, I write my new blog daily, I write 750 or more words every day at 750Words.com, I write poems and short stories at Writing.com where I also review others’ work, and I have two novels in progress from the last two NaNoWriMo events. I also belong to a writing group and a book club. I may start a new writing group this fall at our local library. My word counts for the past six years amount to

–          Forums:               15,000 x 50             = 750,000
–          WDC writing:                                      =      5,000
–          WDC: reviews          750 x 110             =   82,500
–          Novels:                                               = 175,000
–          Letters:                   20 * 1000             =    20,000
–          750Words                                            = 205,000
–          Blogs:                    30 * 1000              =    30,000

Let’s see. This adds up to an estimated 1,267,500 written words in six years. I’m also being somewhat conservative. How many words have I deleted? How many letters and reviews have I written 2,500 words in? My WDC counts might be much higher. Whatever the real count is doesn’t really matter too much. What counts is I’ve written my million words, and I should be ready to take a next step from a quantity perspective.

The next step I’d like to try is actually being a full-time writer, that is, spend some time behaving like a writer. I want to try it out, see if I can do it, see if I can live the hard writing life. I have three weeks of vacation time coming up in July, and if I can free my mind of other crap – money stuff – then I want to spend this time being a professional writer.

*I made good progress on my paperwork backlog today.

There are considerations to make. When does my right brain work best, and when should I do my creative writing? When should I read and how much? When should I write my directed writing such as this blog and handing out free advice to those noncompliant diabetics around the world?

Consult the experts, of course.

Writer’s Digest has some cool resources, and another article discussing building a schedule.

Here’s how I plan to behave during weekdays.

–          4am: wake up, make coffee, and read news, email, social media, and some poetry
–          5am: work on my novels
–          10am: breakfast followed by some yard and garden work and/or exercise
–          12pm: read
–          1pm: nap
–          3pm: make coffee and write my 750
–          4pm: write daily blog post
–          5pm: choose: Anything but reading, writing, and computer. Eat.
–          7pm: work on novels
–          10pm: read
–          11pm: bed

Time:
Novel s – 8hrs
Read – 3hrs
Misc Writing – 2hrs

These are thirteen hour writing days. It doesn’t feel like enough time.  I may have to cut back blogging and miscellaneous writing days. I can’t cut back on napping if I’m up so early. I could cut back on food and family time. Yah, right.

I write best creatively when my mind is free and fresh which means after sleeping. I’ve written some of my best work in the evenings after an early nap as well as in the early mornings. Alcohol has also helped before, so I will likely indulge in some wine and whiskey, not too much.

I am in my first edit, and I’ve already made some tough decisions about my story. I’ve kept most of it so far, but I have also changed a lot. The story is now out of the opening phase and into the middle game. It’s a travel story with much promise of becoming tedious and boring: step, step, step, step, step. Gagh!  I have challenges in making it interesting and meaningful while staying fresh and clean. It’s all part of the process.

Setting a firm schedule should help, though. I find I often fail to sit down and write because I know the mental work will be very tough.

My directed writing can’t be set aside. I need to write blogs and reviews and responses to idiots that call themselves scientists. I have fire inside me that needs to flame hot. But I need to control it, limit it. With a full day at the keyboard, hopefully I can balance it all and make it all work.

I’m not sure about weekends.  I really should write then too. I feel I should make it a full 24 x 7 job for these three weeks. I really want a completed draft of #2 and I’d like a good start on revising #1. I’m advanced quite a bit, I think, since I worked on #1, so there may be much re-write. I also need to sort out the plot: logical, realistic, believable, etc and tie in to the character empathy. I’d really like both ready to read by the end of the summer, and #2 ready to read by the end of my vacation.

Then I need to begin on #3 for NaNoWriMo. I want this year’s to be a serious effort all planned and ready to go. I want to know where I’m going for a change. I want that voice screaming to come out and I want to sit down November first and write that next killer novel in a single draft. I know it’s not possible, but that’s where I want to be November 1.

Sigh. This sounds a lot like work; which of course is why I’m planning these sessions. I want, but want is only fulfilled through hard work. Yes, my three weeks of vacation will be spent working.

